top of page
Search

All Good Things ...

Updated: Sep 6, 2021


It was bound to happen sooner or later. Not a single team had maintained such a perfect streak -- 18 straight wins and 44 games unbeaten! But this truly remarkable feat ended with such an anti-climax that even I, an ardent supporter of Liverpool FC, had to turn my head in disgust and shame.


Before the game I was hopeful and even excited. Watford was a team that had sacked two managers this season already, a team perpetually stuck in relegation since August last year. On the other hand, my side was a rampant storm, unstoppable against every single side in the league. We were the favourites and were guaranteed to win.


However, after a goalless first half, I was less optimistic. Our players were playing terribly and there were no signs of their usual fiery spirit. It did not surprise me when the deadlock was broken, by Watford, only nine minutes after the second-half whistle. But I was still hopeful for a comeback, as we have faced similar situations in the past and still ended the day triumphant. I was terribly wrong.


Merely six minutes later, Watford scored again. I could not believe what was happening. By then I knew we had lost. The team mentality clearly reached a new low than ever before in the entire season and there was no way the team could produce another one of its famed comebacks. All I wished was just one goal to ease the disgrace of such a defeat.


Another goal did arrive, but to Waford. It was then that I had to embrace the fact that Liverpool’s undefeated run finally ended. I suppose it was a good lesson for the team to never underestimate the opponents. For me, though, it was the acceptance of the cruel fact that all good things come to an end.


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page